R> read.dta("model3.dta")
Error in read.dta("model3.dta") : not a Stata version 5-12 .dta file

Best regards,
Arne

RE: Marginal effects in mvProbit [ Reply ]
By: Sabri Ciftci on 2014-06-02 03:42
[forum:41852]

model3.dta (13) downloads
OK, I understand now. Although, I do not need the marginals calculated at means for my paper, I would like to learn my mistake.

I am attaching the code and the data. As I mentioned before, I am new to R. Could not figure out how to send this as a single R file.

thank you for being so patient with me

###Data and code for Arne regarding mvprobit
##install packages and import data
library(foreign)
library("mvProbit")
install.packages<-("mvtnorm")
install.packages<-("maxLik")
install.packages<-("miscTools")
install.packages<-("abind")

mydata <- read.dta("c://data//model1.dta")
estResult <- mvProbit(cbind(SArabia, Turkey, Iran) ~secular + age,
data=mydata, method="BHHH", algorithm= "GHK", nGHK=500)
margEffUncMean <- margEff( estResult, atMean = TRUE, calcVCov = TRUE )

Sabri

By: Arne Henningsen on 2014-06-01 22:04
[forum:41081]
Dear Sabri

As "AtMean" is not equal to the name of an argument of margEff.mvProbit(), mvProbitMargEff(), mvProbitExp(), or pmvnorm(), argument "AtMean=TRUE" is simply ignored. Hence, your command does not return the marginal effects at mean values.

Best regards,
Arne

By: Sabri Ciftci on 2014-06-01 12:53
[forum:41080]
Dear Arne,
The code works now with a minor modification.
when I type:
"atMean=TRUE" I get an error. However:
"AtMean=TRUE" works perfectly. Note the uppercase letter

It may be something in my computer that R does not like. But I got all the results now, and cited mvProbit in my paper.

Many thanks
sabri

By: Arne Henningsen on 2014-06-01 08:24
[forum:41079]
Dear Sabri

Thank you for your message. You might have discovered a bug in mvProbit. Can you please post a small self-contained reproducible example?

Best regards,
Arne

By: Sabri Ciftci on 2014-05-30 04:56
[forum:41078]
Dear Arne